Track of the Week (Week 10, 2017)

Mr Flowers’ track of the week:

Zero7 – On My Own (12″ Version)

Apple Music:


Chosen by Mr Flowers.

Who are Zero7?

Zero 7

Jump to navigation Jump to search

Zero 7 are an English musical duo consisting of Henry Binns and Sam Hardaker. They began as studio engineers and in 1997 formed the group Zero 7. Their debut album, Simple Things, was released in 2001. Subsequent albums include When It Falls, The Garden, and Yeah Ghost.

After studying sound engineering, Binns and Hardaker began their careers in the music industry in the 1990s at Mickie Most's RAK recording studio in London, engineering music for British groups like Pet Shop Boys, Young Disciples, and Robert Plant. In 1997 they created a remix of the song "Climbing Up the Walls" by Radiohead (which was also the first time the name 'Zero 7' was used)[1] and Binns received a credit for additional sampling on Kid A.[2] The pair also remixed Terry Callier's "Love Theme From Spartacus" and songs by Lenny Kravitz, Sneaker Pimps and Lambchop.


The name Zero 7 was chosen after Binns and Hardaker spent time on the Honduran island Utila, which contained a bar named Cero Siete. After returning to the UK they were asked by Radiohead to remix the song "Climbing Up the Walls." Binns and Hardaker called their mix "the Zero 7 Mix," and the name stuck.[3]

In 1999, they released an EP of original material called EP1, under the name Zero 7. In 2001, they released their debut album, Simple Things, which featured collaborations with vocalists Mozez, Sia Furler, and Sophie Barker. The album became a gold record, was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize, and won the "Best Newcomer" Muzik Award. Live appearances after the album's release consisted of Binns and Hardaker along with guest vocalists and other musicians, with as many as 20 performers on stage at once.

In 2004, they released their second album, When It Falls. In addition to the three vocalists from their first album, it featured a collaboration with Danish singer-songwriter Tina Dico. That same year, Binns co-wrote the Emma Bunton track "Breathing".

Zero 7 at Bumbershoot in 2006

Zero 7 released their third album, The Garden, in May 2006, which contained vocals performed by Binns as well as guest vocalists Furler and Swedish folk musician José González. The album was named after the collage that artist friend Gideon London produced for its cover.

In 2007, Binns and Hardaker created a band called Ingrid Eto, which has been described as a Zero 7 instrumental project. In 2009, they released an experimental instrumental EP under the name Kling, entitled Kling EP. Its tracks were later incorporated into Zero 7's fourth album, Yeah Ghost, also released in 2009. The album included contributions from jazz and soul singer Eska Mtungwazi as well as folk artist Martha Tilston.[4]

In 2010, the duo released a retrospective compilation entitled Record. A two-disc special edition contained exclusive remixes of songs from all four of their prior studio albums. In 2013, the band released a 12" single, "On My Own" b/w "Don't Call It Love," on their own label, Make Records.

In 2014 the band released the Simple Science EP, followed by EP3 in 2015. Both were released on Make Records.

In 2016, Henry Binns teamed up with Bo Bruce and Jodi Miliner to form a group called Equador.

At the end of 2018, Zero 7 released a new track called "Mono," featuring Hidden. This was followed at the beginning of 2019 by "Aurora," which marked the band's first collaboration with González in over a decade.

October 2019 further saw the duo release the new single "Swimmers", with additional vocals courtesy of UK based singer, Jem Cooke, who recently wrote and appeared on the Camelphat song "Breathe".

In further Zero 7 news, the band are currently re-issuing their back catalogue and recently re-released their esteemed 2004 album, When It Falls, as a deluxe heavyweight vinyl package.


Studio albums

Other albums


  • Nominated for the Mercury Prize 2001.
  • Nominated for Best British Newcomer at the Brit Awards 2002.
  • Nominated for a 2007 Grammy Award for The Garden, in the category Best Electronic/Dance Album.

See also


External links